Stuart Applewhite was the star of the show as his unbeaten 176 led Maeshafn Argoed to a 240-run success over Rhewl in the Second XI East Division.

In a game featuring just 16 of the usual 22 players, Applewhite crashed his huge century from just 85 balls, the knock including 22 fours and seven sixes.

Matt Lloyd added 50 not out as Maeshafn cruised to 273 for two declared as seven-man Rhewl were put to the sword.

And nine-man Maeshafn wrapped things up quickly after the turnaround as Tom Hall bagged 4-9 to roll Rhewl out for 33 inside 10 overs.

Ian Hall caught the eye for Chirk Seconds as they came away from Ruthin Seconds with a seven-wicket win.

Hall helped himself to 6-22 as Ruthin were skittled for just 72, a total Chirk passed with ease as Ollie Gough finished unbeaten on 26.

Leaders Connah’s Quay Seconds continued their title challenge with a five-wicket win over Llay Welfare Seconds.

Mike Phennah (40) and Lewis Williams (38) were in the runs as Llay posted 148 for eight having been asked to bat first by Quay, who saw Stephen Norbury (3-22) impress.

Tom Hooson (60) and Steve Hopkins (25) then combined to break the back of Quay’s successful run chase, Dave Jones taking 2-22 for Llay.

Stephen Conner will count himself unlucky to have finished on the losing side as his Gwersyllt Park Seconds were beaten by 47 runs by Marchwiel and Wrexham Seconds.

Henry Probin (35), Paul Ankers (32no) and Ryan Williams (31) were in the runs as Marchwiel posted 161 for nine, Mike Griffiths bagging 3-19.

Conner then threatened to lead Gwersyllt to victory as he struck 87 at the top of the order, including 11 fours and three sixes.

But once Conner departed to James Spencer (6-7), Gwersyllt collapsed to 114 all out as no other batsmen reached double figures.

Pontblyddyn and Gresford second XI’s kept up their promotion hopes with respective victories over Hawarden Park and Denbigh.

With Northop and Menai Bridge occupying the Second XI Premier Division promotion places, both Pontblyddyn and Gresford were able to record key wins to keep the pressure up on the leading duo.

Pontblyddyn were able to make fairly light work of hosts Hawarden Park Seconds, who were bowled out for just 46 after the visitors had posted 207.

Tom Dawson struck 92, while Richie Davies added 32 as Pont reached 207, despite some good bowling performances from James Rowlands (4-59), Jason Perry (3-47) and Steve De Rycke (2-26).

Unfortunately for Hawarden they were unable to show the same ability with the bat as they were skittled by Pontblyddyn, Daz Wilcock (4-12) and Lewis Davies (4-2) doing the damage.

Gresford were made to work harder for their victory over Denbigh Seconds, but came away with a key 15-run success.

Having won the toss, Gresford set about posting 180 for seven, David Baker hitting 78 not out at number three with Ewan Hoskins adding an important 33 lower down the order.

Denbigh’s reply got off to a strong start with Jon Eccles (45) and Andy Thomas (33) in the runs, before Darren Nixon hit 32, but Gresford’s bowlers were able to restrict their opponents to 165 for nine.

Dan Parry was the star of the show for Gresford as he bagged 5-27, while Alex Morton helped himself to 2-31.

Leaders Northop Seconds made it nine wins from 11 matches as they overcame Mochdre Seconds by seven wickets.

Chris Hinton (3-17) and Andrew Oates (2-22) were the pick of the bowlers as Mochdre were restricted to 101 for seven.

And after a solid start from openers James Roberts (20) and David Foulkes (15), Thomas Hughes (33no) and Ben Mackriell (17no) saw Northop home.

Carmel and District Seconds’ tough campaign continued as they were beaten by 104 runs at the hands of promotion chasing Menai Bridge Seconds.

Nick Hughes and Tim Abraham pocketed three wickets apiece as Menai were bowled out for 202, although that proved more than enough with only four Carmel batsmen reaching double figures.

Luke Bodman (24) and Hughes (22) were the main run scorers for Carmel, who were dismissed for 98, Dion Owen with 5-32.

Mid-table Llandudno Seconds (159) were also winners as they kept their nerve to beat Llanrwst Seconds (135) by 24 runs.

In Second XI West Division, Conwy Seconds (170-9) overcame St Asaph Seconds (155-6) by 15 runs and Dolgellau Seconds (96-4) defeated Pwllheli Seconds (95-6) by six wickets.

Abergele Seconds and Bangor Seconds saw their scheduled game cancelled.