VMFC 2 Kendal Town 0

Saturday 30th July 2022

VanEupen Arena

NWCFL Premier Division

By Ethan Hoijord

Motors were victorious in their first outing of the 2022-23 NWCFL Premier Division season with a 2-0 win at home to Kendal Town as Lewis Buckley and Ethan Gouldbourne found themselves on the scoresheet.

There were few chances created in the opening minutes as both sides aimed to find their feet. However, the visitors were struggling to keep control of Michael Burkey as the hosts were awarded a corner when their effort was pushed around the near post.

Just before the 20th minute mark, Motors’ first goal was scored when Burkey played the ball across the box for Lewis Buckley to net on his debut at the back post. It was a fantastic start for the summer signing.

Despite a few Kendal shots that failed to test McClenaghan, there was little to note as the two sides were separated by the goal from Buckley at half time.

Sparking some frustration, Motors were left scratching their heads ten minutes into the second half as Ethan Gouldbourne was booked for dissent for what seemed to be a certain foul from a visiting defender. The hosts were staggered that their penalty claims were turned away.

However the second would soon come when recently made signing Sabu’s effort was saved and spilt by the visitors keeper for Gouldbourne to smash home. Mick McGraa’s side were fully deserving of their two goal lead.

With the minutes ticking away, McGraa would make his first change as the energetic Sabu was replaced by fellow debutant Francois Antoine.

Kendal could have got themselves back into the game in the latest of stages but McClenaghan made sure he kept a clean sheet with a fantastic save against his former side.

The whistle for full-time blew at the end of the ninety, the hosts signing off their first game with a fully worthy victory as they now look to build on this performance in their pursuit of having a successful season.

Motors are next in action against Lower Breck on August 4th, away from home.

VAUXHALL MOTORS TEAM: James McClenaghan, Ethan Gouldbourne, Greg Drummound, Marcus James, Joseph Heath, Haydn Cooper, Michael Burkey, Ben Holmes, Lewis Buckley, Jordan Deer, Adam Smith (80’).

SUBS: Sean Moscrop, Jamie Eaton, Simon Thelwell, Francois Antoine (80’), Liam Turner.