THERE were plenty of winners as the Chester Romans held their 2019 end of season awards evenings to officially conclude the year for the senior, youth, and junior teams.

The Chester Romans adult team enjoyed a largely successful season by finishing fifth in the NFC 1 South to avoid relegation back into the division which they came up from last year.

Chester claimed three wins from their ten fixtures to keep their place in the league, and therefore stay at their highest competitive level since 2015.

No fewer than 14 senior players and staff members at the club were recognised for their efforts, although the General Manager of the Chester Romans hoped to hand out more.

After the awards evening, which took place at Hickory’s Smokehouse Chester, Geraint Griffiths said: “It was a great evening, but a real shame that we couldn’t give everyone an award because everyone involved with the club gave everything they had.

“It was an amazing night, though, and it was made even more special for me personally as I was given the ‘Clubman of the Year’ award.

“It’s very humbling for me to be honoured by the club that I used to play for back when they first formed in the 1980s, but I couldn’t have done it without the support of everyone here.

“We’re now looking forward to the new season with some rookie days coming up for new players to try out for the team before we resume full training in January.”

Toby McManus was named the ‘Offensive Rookie of the Year’ after claiming a team-high of six assists, as well as one touchdown in his debut season.

Liam Shone, meanwhile, was handed the ‘Defensive Rookie of the Year’ award while the linebacker Matt Macauley was named as the team’s ‘Defensive Player of the Year’ following his eighth season with the side.

Mike Thompson, who also played his eighth campaign with the Romans, claimed the prize for the ‘Offensive Player of the Year’.

The team voted for Tom Peto to be named as the ‘Players’ Player of the Year’, while Harry Maltby was handed the ‘Big Team, Little Me’ gong for having the best team ethic.

Arron Powell won this year’s ‘GATA Award’ for his sheer determination to improve, while Nathan James Sharrocks was also recognised with a special award.

A number of club members were also handed prizes for their extensive work behind the scenes in getting the club to where they are today, with the team also unveiling a new Hall of Fame plaque at Hickory’s – the official sponsor of the Chester Romans.

The Romans Academy also conducted an end of season awards ceremony for their Youth and Junior teams, after both reached the National Finals in their respective divisions.

Nearly 100 coaches, players, and family members attended the evening at the Cheshire County Sports Club with Oliver Willett claiming the prestigious ‘Junior Most Valuable Player Shield’ for his exceptional leadership of the junior side through his role as captain.

Along with the linebackers Luca Guzzo and Dan Davenport, Willett, a Defensive back, also picked up a prize in the Defence category.

For their offensive work, meanwhile, quarter back Freddie Long, and linemen Alex Williams and Alex Baldry were recognised with awards.

Youth Awards for Offence went to wide receiver Jordan Brady-Williams, quarterback Alex Ross and centre Harvey Mckeever who picked up rookie of the year after starting every game in his first year with the team.

Youth Defensive Awards went to Rhys Astrop, and the linebackers Reece Jones and Oli Taylor - who picked up the ‘Coaches Player’ award with his outstanding commitment on and off the pitch throughout the season.

The Defence also weighed in with most improved player going to defensive back Jack Stephenson and lineman of the year going to Callum Bright.

All three age categories for the Chester Romans are now recruiting at rookie events over November and December, before returning to full training in January.

Anyone over the age of 13 who is interested in pursuing American football can get in touch with the Chester Romans on Facebook to enquire about the nearest rookie event.

Full list of winners at the Chester Romans’ Senior Team awards:

Special Awards – Nathan James Sharrocks, Tracie Cooper-Probyn, Chris Cotton, Andy Beedle, and Simon Mawson.

Clubman of the Year – Geraint Griffiths

Offensive Rookie of the Year – Toby McManus

Defensive Rookie of the Year – Liam Shone

Offensive Player of the Year – Mike Thompson

Defensive Player of the Year – Matt Macaulay

Big Team, Little Me Award – Harry Maltby

GATA Award – Arron Powell

Players’ Player of the Year – Tom Peto

Hall of Fame Inductee – Richard Colin