CHESTER rock band Mansun have announced they are reissuing their 1998 album Six to celebrate its 21st anniversary.

Originally released a year after their number one debut album, Attack of the Grey Lantern, Six aptly charted at number six on the UK album charts and spawned four Top 40 singles in Six, Being A Girl, Legacy and Negative.

The album will be released on Kscope on March 22 2019 on 180 gram coloured vinyl, standard vinyl, CD and deluxe 4 disc book edition.

Mansun, who consisted of Paul Draper (vocals, guitars), Dominic Chad (guitars, piano, harpsichord), Stove King (bass) and Andie Rathbone (drums) were acclaimed as one of the most iconic and innovative British bands of the late 90s and signed to the legendary record label Parlophone (home to The Beatles and Radiohead) in 1996. They released three albums – Attack of the Grey Lantern Lantern (1997), Six (1998) and Little Kix (2000).

Kscope acquired the band’s catalogue in 2017 and are running a thorough reissue series that delves into a treasure trove of previously unreleased audio and visual material. Kscope released Draper’s acclaimed solo debut Spooky Action in 2017; Draper is currently working on the follow up, due for release later this year.

A spokesperson for Kscop said: "Concept-driven and spanning myriad genres, Six was a record out of time made by a band at the peak of their creative powers – a collection of songs that fizzed with ideas and inspirations and fused elements of pop, electronica and progressive rock to Tchaikovsky sample, electronic drums and spooky synth lines.

"Lyrically, the songs referenced religious scepticism, gender dysphoria, Winnie the Pooh, L. Ron Hubbard, Stanley Kubrick, Orwell, Marxism and that most iconic TV show, The Prisoner. On top of all of that, the record featured a spoken word section from the legendary fourth Doctor Who – Tom Baker. The end result is a 70 minute, twelve-track brain warp, a record that would set Mansun apart from their peers forever."

Six has been fully remastered from the original master tapes by Jon Astley (Van Morrison, The Who, George Harrison, Norah Jones, Rolling Stones). The standard CD comes with a bonus track of outtakes from the Tom Baker recording sessions. The deluxe version of Six comes with a treasure trove of bonus material including one disc of outtakes, demos and rarities and a disc featuring The Dead Flowers Reject – a fan-generated bootleg album featuring favourite B-sides from the Six era.